Are you among the 59club’s 11th Annual Award nominees?

By: March 18, 2021

Last year, was not an easy year for club managers to deliver the same level of customer experience as in a normal situation.

People usually remember peak moments and pits during their stay in a golf resort or a golf club. I would dare to say that the moments most likely to be remembered are the pits.

Right now, is a great moment to create and provide memorable moments for our golf club guests and members. How you treat your guests and members during the coronavirus will remain in people’s mind:

  • Make your golf club guests’ or members’ jaw drop.
  • Give them something that is unexpected, but highly esteemed.
  • Make them feel special!

I recommended among the others to my clients to

Show empathy, understanding, and compassion. In such a situation your employees’ priority will be their family and themselves.

Solicit employee questions and answer them in your regular communications, and then maintain a Q&A repository somewhere that everyone can access.

I highlighted these thoughts because we are still not over yet the COVID-19 pandemic.

Who are 59club's 11th Annual Award nominees
2019 Service Excellence Award Winners Group

59club’s 11th Annual Award Nominees

59club will continue to honor their best performers across the UK and Ireland with a virtual recorded presentation, as their 11th Annual Service Excellence Awards Ceremony is available to watch from 4 pm, Wednesday, March 24 hosted by presenter and broadcaster Dan Walker.

Among the 59club’s 11th Annual Award nominees aiming to become multi-award winners are four individuals hoping to retain titles they won in 2019:

  • Long Ashton’s Glenn McNaughton, and The Belfry’s Jacques Hobson, in their respective ‘Food & Beverage Manager of the Year’ category;
  • Foxhills’ Sean Graham, in ‘Golf Retail Manager of the Year’; and in the ‘Greenkeeper of the Year’ category; Goring & Streatley Golf Club’s Matt Aplin.

Both Radyr Golf Club and Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa are also looking to retain their 2019 titles.

They will receive the ‘Ultimate Service Excellence’ award for their commitment to engage, analyze and enrich their member and guest experience, utilizing a diverse range of survey tools across 59club’s software platform.

Forest of Arden, Marriott Hotel & Country Club’s Philomena Wilkinson is in the hunt for her second success in the category of ‘Leading Individual Golf Membership Sales Performance’, having won the equivalent title in 2018.

accuracy 59club's 11th Annual Award

Find yourself among the nominees!

my59 Ultimate Service Excellence, sponsored by
  • Ashford Manor Golf Club;
  • Dulwich & Sydenham Hill Golf Club;
  • Edgbaston Golf Club;
  • Farleigh Golf Club;
  • Glynhir Golf Club;
  • Haydock Park Golf Club;
  • Highgate Golf Club;
  • John O’Gaunt Golf Club;
  • Long Ashton Golf Club;
  • Panmure Golf Club;
  • Pollok Golf Club;
  • Radyr Golf Club and
  • Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa; and Trentham Park GC.
Leading Individual Golf Membership Sales Performance, sponsored by Albatross:
  • James Flesher (Dunston Hall Hotel);
  • Phil Stickler (St Pierre, Marriott Hotel & Country Club); and
  • Philomena Wilkinson (Forest of Arden, Marriott Hotel & Country Club).
Leading Individual Leisure Membership Sales Performance, sponsored by Tacit & Eagle:
  • Dan Hawkins (Celtic Manor Resort);
  • George Wainwright (Branston Golf & Country Club) and
  • Victoria Martin (Old Thorns).
Leisure Membership Sales Team of the Year, sponsored by Kennet Leasing:
  • Branston Golf & Country Club;
  • Celtic Manor Resort; and
  • Old Thorns.
Food & Beverage Manager of the Year, sponsored by Comesto:
  • Christian Tarca (Stoke Park);
  • Craig Sutherland (Brora Golf Club);
  • Daisy Ash (Foxhills Club & Resort);
  • Glenn McNaughton (Long Ashton Golf Club);
  • Greg Smith (Edgbaston Golf Club);
  • Jacques Hobson (The Belfry Hotel & Resort);
  • Josie Swift (Farleigh Golf Club);
  • Leanne Ray (Wexham Park Golf Club); and
  • Simon Ibbotson (Kingswood Golf Club).
Golf Retail Manager of the Year, sponsored by Asbri Golf:
  • Alyson Lilley (Gleneagles);
  • Jack Heginbotham (Long Ashton Golf Club);
  • Kenny Monaghan (Stirling Golf Club);
  • Matt Lacey (Hurtmore Golf Club);
  • Paul Babbage (Farleigh Golf Club);
  • Peter Lane (Harpenden Golf Club);
  • Sean Graham (Foxhills Club & Resort);
  • Stuart Morrison (Tain Golf Club); and
  • Tim Harris (Stoke Park).
Greenkeeper of the Year, sponsored by Toro:
  • Angus Macleod (The Belfry Hotel & Resort);
  • Craig Parry (Edgbaston Golf Club);
  • David Wyborn (Foxhills Club & Resort);
  • Derek Hunter (Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club);
  • Gary Nicoll (Panmure Golf Club);
  • James Braithwaite (Long Ashton Golf Club);
  • Matt Aplin (Goring & Streatley Golf Club);
  • Phil Chiverton (The Grove); and
  • Terry Wharton (Haydock Park Golf Club).
Golf Operations Team of the Year, sponsored by Club Car:
  • Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club;
  • Farleigh Golf Club;
  • Gleneagles;
  • Long Ashton Golf Club;
  • Porters Park Golf Club;
  • Stirling Golf Club;
  • Stoke Park;
  • The Grove; and
  • The Mere Golf Resort & Spa.
Golf Manager of the Year, sponsored by Golf Genius:
  • Andrew Jowett (Gleneagles);
  • Brad Gould (The Grove);
  • Gareth Morgan (Long Ashton Golf Club);
  • James Ibbetson (Farleigh Golf Club);
  • Karen Drake (Burnham & Berrow Golf Club);
  • Ruud Hercik (Gaudet Luce Golf Club);
  • Stuart Collier (Stoke Park);
  • Tom Lawton (The Mere Golf Resort & Spa); and
  • Tom Scott (Harpenden Golf Club).